Gareth Southgate names 30-man England list without Greenwood, Foden

Gareth Southgate
Three Lions boss Gareth Southgate has named a squad of 30 players for the triple header awaiting England this month. However, he excludes Manchester United striker Mason Greenwood and Man City midfielder Phil Foden.

The sanction for both Mason Greenwood and Phil Foden does not last long. After being sent off the squad last month as they broke coronavirus restrictions, Gareth Southgate rules them out this time.

“We have to send a message to all our players in our teams at every age level, that that sort of thing is not how we do things with England. I think they need this period of reflection.” he said about them.

Read : OFFICIAL : Barca completes signing of Sergino Dest from Ajax Amsterdam

However, Red Devils’ centre-back Harry Maguire is back after been arrested in Greece last month. Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson also makes his return while Arsenal defender Bukayo Saka, Everton on-fire striker Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Leicester City midfielder Harvey Barnes, are handed their first call-ups.

England will face Wales on October 8 in an international friendly before playing Danemark on October 11 for the first round of UEFA Nations League and the return on October 14. All games will be played at Wembley Stadium.

Full Squad of Gareth Southgate

Goalkeepers : Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope

Defenders : Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Joe Gomez, Michael Keane, Harry Maguire, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Tyrone Mings, Bukayo Saka, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker

Midfielders : Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Declan Rice, Kalvin Phillips, James Ward-Prowse, Harry Winks

Three Lions of Gareth Southgate.
Three Lions of Gareth Southgate.

Attackers : Tammy Abraham, Harvey Barnes, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Jack Grealish, Danny Ings, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling

To Top